Free Consultation (800) 777-4081

Steps to Take After an Accident With an Uninsured Driver

Operating a motor vehicle without the required amounts of automobile insurance is against the law in Pennsylvania. Yet this does not stop hundreds of drivers from illegally driving while uninsured and underinsured daily. If you have the misfortune of getting into a crash with an uninsured driver, consult a Pittsburgh car accident attorney at Dallas W. Hartman, P.C. We can help you seek the financial compensation you deserve.

Get Immediate Medical Care

Your safety is the number one priority after an accident with an uninsured driver. Once you have pulled over in a safe location, check yourself for injuries. Then, if you are able to do so, check your passengers and the occupants of the other vehicle to see if anyone else is injured. If so, you have a responsibility to render reasonable assistance as a driver. This may mean calling 911 to request paramedics to the scene of the crash.

Report the Car Accident to the Police

Even if an accident with an uninsured driver appears minor, you should call 911 right away to report it to the police. Driving without insurance is illegal in Pennsylvania. The uninsured driver can receive a citation and a fine for this violation. The driver may also not be allowed to drive until he or she can show proof of insurance. This can protect others from being put in the same position as you in the future.

Contact Your Own Car Insurance Provider 

Pennsylvania is a “choice” no-fault car insurance state. When drivers purchase car insurance, they can choose “limited tort” or “full tort” plans. Limited tort is the same as a no-fault insurance system. It requires drivers to use their own insurance policies for medical bill and property damage coverage, regardless of fault for the car accident.

Full tort insurance, on the other hand, gives you the right to sue the other driver or a third party for causing the car accident. This right exists regardless of the severity of your injuries. By contrast, you can only sue with limited tort insurance if your injuries are significantly or permanently damaging.

File a First-Party Insurance Claim

After an accident with an uninsured driver, his or her insurance company will not be an option for pursuing compensation. However, you could still be eligible for at least $5,000 in medical bill coverage through the required personal injury protection (PIP) insurance in Pennsylvania. If you have uninsured motorist (UM) insurance on your policy, this can provide additional coverage.

UM insurance pays for car accidents caused by drivers who unlawfully drive without insurance or proof of financial responsibility. You most likely have UM insurance if you did not reject this coverage in writing when you purchased your policy. The minimum required amounts of UM insurance when purchased are $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage. This can cover your medical costs after a crash with an uninsured motorist.

Call an Pittsburgh Car Accident Attorney 

If you do not have adequate insurance on your own policy to pay for medical bills and property damage, contact a car accident lawyer to discuss other potential recovery options after a collision with an uninsured driver. A specialized uninsured driver accident lawyer in Pittsburgh can provide legal representation and help you recover compensation.

If the driver has assets available, for example, you may be able to sue him or her directly. You may also have the option of suing a third party, such as the uninsured driver’s employer or a vehicle part manufacturer. A skilled Pittsburgh personal injury lawyer can carefully review your case to explain your rights and list your legal options.

This entry was posted in Car Accidents, Uninsured Driver Accidents. Bookmark the permalink.
schedule a free consultation all fields required *
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
View All Locations